For those of you that wonder why I help everyone I can, I sometimes seem to go out of my way. I sometimes seem to help others to my own detriment.

For at least six years now, I have thought every day that I should have assisted with giving CPR to a man that died on Jaws beach in the Bahamas during my birthday party. I went over to see if he needed help along with Gina, one of my best friends, but chose not to help, because… no great excuse, but lots of them.

A short while later my cousin drowned during a Defense Force Training incident. And while the two incidents could not have been connected other than through me, my cousin having been at the beach that day for my party, I feel responsible for both.

I feel every day I have to pay for what I did not do. This is why I encourage you to do your best. Why I try to help who I can, to exercise kindness whenever possible.

Ancilleno Davis, PhD. Candidate
Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology- Miami University, Oxford Ohio

