Today I watched Marcus’ reflection on our friend Poetic Jones. He is the inspiration behind the original hook for “Promise me”. I remember knowing Alan through the Christian Youth Movement and always thinking he is the handsome guy that has it all and could get all the girls and must have it all together. I was a little younger than he was and a little older than his brother Spencer.
Then he disappeared from the church for awhile and I never even thought of him… until we met at “The Verse Place”. As he started in his poetry journey, I remember discussing how he thought we were so amazing and he was struggling with making quality work. I remember telling him to own it and that he should use his last name while he struggled and call himself “The Poetic Joneser”. I reminded him that we all struggled and in the end he took the pen name Poetic Jones… typical Alan, that’s a damn sexy name right there. and he shared the fears, changes and challenges of living with his kidney failure. But he never acted like it was that big a deal.
I eventually ended up bouncing around the islands and when I came back to nassau one night, Aureli called me and asked for a ride to Alan’s. I had no idea what was up. because again, I had not heard from him or about him and he was really private about his struggles. It was the last time we would see him alive, but he cracked jokes with us, told us about his love life and even breaking up to spare his girl from being with him through the last days. He told us that he had so much left to write.
I hear him every day. I fear leaving things incomplete, and I do that alot. But I also hear him say, it’s ok. He was calm and accepting of having had a good run. I wrote this song shortly after hearing Alan had passed away. it gives me a strange sense of peace.

Rest in Peace Alan.

 

Promise me

It seems death
Ain’t nothing but a tide away
And I’m already buried neck deep in sand.
It seems life
Has already done passed me by
And I’m already that much less of a man

But if you
Promise me
That you’ll set me free
take my body, send my soul to the sky
I could promise you
That I’ll be true
Once I die.
I’ll stop living this lie
It seems Love
is just a little too deep for me
So i feel safer in these Pools of Lust

