Today I am scheduled to meet icons from my childhood. Sonia Manzano (Maria) and Carrol Spinney (Oscar the grouch and Big Bird).
For most of my childhood, Sesame Street was a constant. Get home on time and you could see Barkley following the kids as they disappear behind the tree. Sesame Street told us to share, cooperate, sing with one another, accept people for who they were, solve problems and all sorts of math and words.
As a new dad, I look at the quality of today’s children’s programming and it seems there is no s something missing. All the bright colors are there, there is music, but there seems to be something missing. I have lots of questions for Maria and Oscar and Big Bird. If you have any, you can comment on this blog post or my Facebook Page.
For now, I will be slogging through the snow but remembering being “on my way to where the air is sweet”.

Sincerely,
Ancilleno Davis, M.Sc.

